//
you're reading...
Album News, Review, Tour Dates

Kind of Review: The Venetia Fair – …Basically Just Does Karaoke (Covers EP)

Amidst this time of reflection and sea of #AotY lists, I’m bustin’ into this joint with a pre-release review of sorts. Who the hell releases an EP on Christmas Eve? Well that’d be Boston’s The Venetia Fair, duh.

Back in 2012 TVF held a Kickstarter campaign to fund the DIY recording and release of their sophomore full-length, Every Sick Disgusting Thought We’ve Got In Our Brain. The influx of support they received was so immense, it took a mere 4 days into the campaign to reach 100% of the initial goal. This was, without a doubt, one of the most fun Kickstarter campaigns to follow. I mean, just listen to this song written for one of the pledgers:

Among the awesome pledge incentives was a $200+ option to pick a song for the band to cover. What a fun opportunity! Who doesn’t want the chance to match up a unique band they dig with a classic favorite tune? As it turns out, the songs selected by those who purchased the cover song package truly convey the wide spectrum of taste The Venetia Fair appeals to.

Singer Benny Santoro comments:

We said we’d cover anything they wanted and we got 6 very different songs from different genres and different eras in music, each with their own challenges. We had no intention of simply playing these songs as they were originally played (especially Bohemian Rhapsody… we didn’t wanna go anywhere near that song!) so we took our time and completely rebuilt them from the ground up to make sure we made them our own. Some of the songs we loved and had to figure out how to tweak them without totally ruining them and some of the songs we hated and had to figure out how to make them good, but I believe we rose to the challenge and, with the help of our Kickstarter backers, put together a very strange and very cool little cover EP. We definitely trashed some classic tunes, but it’s all very tongue-in-cheek since we would never take a cover song seriously ’cause it’s basically just doing karaoke…

The 6 songs will be released December 24, 2013 on digital retailers, including bandcamp. In the meantime, right now you can “PAY-WHATEVER-THE-FUCK” for Every Sick Disgusting Thought We’ve Got In Our Brain at bandcamp until Christmas. The album was released March 1st and earned a 5/5 rating from PPRAE. If you haven’t checked it out yet, what are you waiting for? Shit, you can even gift it to your friends with crappy taste. It’s kind of like Panic! At The Disco on crack.

1. The Venetia Fair - ...Basically Just Does Karaoke EP cover art“Bohemian Rhapsody” (Queen)
2. “Come on Eileen” (Dexy’s Midnight Runner)
3. “Rock Lobster” (The B-52′s)
4. “Jesus of Suburbia” (Green Day)
5. “Camouflage, Camouflage” (The Blood Brothers)
6. “The Willing Well III: Apollo II: The Telling Truth” (Coheed and Cambria)

From the moment I read “…Just Basically Does Karaoke” was being released, I couldn’t contain myself. Hell, I spent a good chunk of my radio show on December 11th discussing and playing the original songs in anticipation.

The Venetia Fair did not disappoint with their interpretations of these classic jams. They have this kind of energy. It’s difficult to describe, but TVF are a group of nutty fuckers. Their Facebook posts embody that to an extent, but not entirely. You’ve got to see them live to understand. I once caught them on a tour with Vuvuzela. I uh… was the only person in the crowd… but that didn’t slow The Venetia Fair down one bit. They set the keyboards up in the middle of the floor and just ran around the venue like madmen during the performance, not skipping a beat.

I re-imagine that energy while listening to “…Basically Just Does Karaoke.”

“Come On Eileen” is always a fun song. TVF did a good job of not destroying it and making it their own. The “Rock Lobster” cover, I cannot stop listening to. If I didn’t know any better, I’d think it was an original. The Blood Brothers & The Venetia Fair are a match made in heaven. Coheed and Cambria & The Venetia Fair, also a match made in heaven. December 24th, make sure to grab this EP!

In the meantime, enjoy some Christmas cheer from the 2011 EP, “The Pits.”

Go see The Venetia Fair live!

  • Dec 22 – Worcester, MA w/ Actor|Observer, Storm The Bay, American Verse, The Old Guard, All Good Things
  • Dec 23 – Haverhill, MA – Slayfest
  • Jan 02 – Wareham, MA w/ Culprit, From The Makers of, Trophy Wives, Milk, Racing Days, Exalted Existence
  • Jan 03 – Philadelphia, PA
  • Jan 04 – Columbus, OH

The Substance Sequence Tour with A Lot Like Birds, Sianvar, Stolas, The Venetia Fair

  • Jan 08 – San Francisco, CA *
  • Jan 09 – Sacramento, CA *
  • Jan 10 – Fresno, CA *
  • Jan 11 – Anaheim, CA *
  • Jan 12 – Las Vegas, NV *
  • Jan 13 – Mesa, AZ *
  • Jan 14 – El Paso, TX *
  • Jan 15 – San Antonio, TX *
  • Jan 16 – Houston, TX *
  • Jan 17 – Dallas, TX *
  • Jan 18 – St. Louis, MO *
  • Jan 19 – Indianapolis, IN *
  • Jan 20 – Rochester, NY *
  • Jan 21 – Providence, RI *
  • Jan 22 – Brooklyn, NY *
  • Jan 23 – Baltimore, MD *
  • Jan 24 – Kent, OH *
  • Jan 25 – Hamtramck, MI *
  • Jan 26 – Darien, IL *
  • Jan 27 – Des Moines, IA *
  • Jan 28 – Denver, CO *
  • Jan 29 – Salt Lake City, UT *
  • Jan 31 – Seattle, WA *
  • Feb 01 – Portland, OR *
  • Feb 02 – Chico, CA *

* = The Substance Sequence Tour with A Lot Like Birds, Sianvar, Stolas

About Neesh

I'm a quiet girl. and I like cheeeeese. I'm taking life one day at a time, but I know that I want to help my fellow artists bring the magic from their dreams to life as well as provide our children with hope and love. I'm a huge fan of unadulterated self-expression and am a bit of an unorthodox artist myself. I do what I do to allow gifted artists to focus on their craft. As long as I have a pen & paper, am surrounded by love, and have access to forward-moving music at my fingertips... I'm content with paving my own path. I follow my heart with hopes it will lead me down the appropriate path. I live and I learn. I'm Neesh. What up? \m/ Oh! I host a weekly radio show/podcast on Radio Xenu! http://neeshcast.com for all the info and past episodes <3

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Top Posts & Pages

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 986 other followers

